TrackVPS › Private AI › EU cloud providers
EU-owned cloud providers: who owns them and what they cost
7 of the 14 providers we track are EU companies with no US parent on their own legal pages. The cheapest is UpCloud at €3.00/month (Hourly, capped at 28 days/month). Every company fact links to the page we copied it from.
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links. It never changes the facts or the order.
The list, EU-owned first, cheapest first
| Provider | Owner of the linked offer | Contracting company (country) | Datacentres | Cheapest plan (price after any intro) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UpCloud5 plans tracked | EU-owned | UpCloud Oy (Finland) | United States, Europe (region) | €3.00/mo Starter 1 vCPU / 1 GB, 1 GB Hourly, capped at 28 days/month | See plan |
| OVHcloud4 plans tracked | EU-owned | OVH Hosting Limited (Ireland) Group parent: OVH Groupe SA (France) | Europe (region; cities not listed on the plan page) | €3.81/mo VPS-1, 4 GB 'From' price; final price depends on location and commitment | See plan |
| Netcup5 plans tracked | EU-owned | netcup GmbH (Germany) Group parent: Anexia (Austria) | Austria, Germany, Netherlands, Singapore, United States | €6.94/mo VPS 500 G12.5, 4 GB 12-month term; €7.98/mo without the term | See plan |
| Contabo6 plans tracked | EU-owned | Contabo GmbH (Germany) | United States, Europe (region) | €9.00/mo Cloud VPS 6, 12 GB Intro: €6.00/mo for the first 24 months, then €9.00/mo | See plan |
| Hostinger4 plans tracked | EU-owned | Hostinger International Limited (Cyprus) | Europe (region; cities not listed on the plan page) | €10.73/mo KVM 1, 4 GB Intro: €5.81/mo with 24 months paid upfront, then €10.73/mo | See plan |
| Scaleway5 plans tracked | EU-owned | Scaleway SAS (France) Group parent: iliad Group | France, Netherlands, Poland | €20.10/mo PLAY2-NANO, 4 GB Hourly, cancel anytime | See plan |
| Hetzner9 plans tracked | EU-owned | Hetzner Online GmbH (Germany) | Germany, Finland, Singapore | €65.70/mo Server Auction (i7-7700), 64 GB Monthly, no setup fee | See plan |
| RackNerd10 plans tracked | US company | RackNerd LLC (United States) | Canada, France, Ireland, Netherlands, United States | €1.63/mo KVM VPS Special 1 GB, 1 GB Yearly promo (paid annually); renews at the same price per RackNerd's specials FAQ | See plan |
| Kamatera5 plans tracked | US company US company for US customers; other regions may contract with another group company (not named on the terms page) | Kamatera, Inc. (United States) | United States | €3.58/mo Type A 1 vCPU / 1 GB, 1 GB Monthly; hourly option, cancel anytime | See plan |
| IONOS4 plans tracked | US company EU parent, US contracting entity on this link | IONOS Inc. (United States) Group parent: IONOS SE (Germany) | Germany, Spain, United Kingdom, United States | €5.37/mo VPS S+, 2 GB Intro: €1.79/mo for the first 3 months on a 12-month term, then €5.37/mo | See plan |
| AWS Lightsail5 plans tracked | US company | Amazon Web Services, Inc. (United States) Group parent: Amazon.com (United States) | Canada, United States, Europe (region) | €6.26/mo Linux General Purpose 1 GB (IPv4), 1 GB Hourly, capped monthly | See plan |
| DigitalOcean3 plans tracked | US company | DigitalOcean, LLC (United States) | Australia, Canada, India, Singapore, United States, Europe (region) | €21.47/mo Basic Droplet 4 GB, 4 GB Monthly, billed per second | See plan |
| Akamai (Linode)4 plans tracked | US company | Linode LLC (not published) Group parent: Akamai | 30+ regions worldwide | €21.47/mo Shared 4 GB, 4 GB Monthly, billed hourly | See plan |
| Vultr3 plans tracked | US company | The Constant Company, LLC (United States) | 30+ regions worldwide | €39.18/mo VX1 8 GB, 8 GB Monthly, billed hourly | See plan |
Datacentres come from the locations on each plan page we track; "Europe (region)" means the provider lists Europe without naming cities for that plan. Hetzner, Netcup and Scaleway name cities. Hetzner's cloud plans showed as unavailable at our last check, so its cheapest live plan is a Server Auction box. Prices are monthly, in euros, ex VAT, from our daily price check. Each price shown is the one you pay after any intro period; the intro offer, its length and the commitment sit under it.
CLOUD Act basis, provider by provider
Company facts only. Not legal advice. The law: 18 U.S.C. § 2713 says a provider must disclose data "within such provider's possession, custody, or control, regardless of whether such communication, record, or other information is located within or outside of the United States." More in our CLOUD Act explainer.
| Provider | Basis | Source |
|---|---|---|
| UpCloud | UpCloud Oy is registered in Finland; no parent named. No US company appears on its legal pages. We have not checked for US subsidiaries. Finnish company, Business ID 2431560-5, Helsinki. Terms say its EU datacentres are run directly by UpCloud Oy. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| OVHcloud | OVH Hosting Limited is registered in Ireland; parent named: OVH Groupe SA (France). No US company appears on its legal pages. We have not checked for US subsidiaries. Our link is ovhcloud.com/en-ie. Its terms name OVH HOSTING LIMITED (Carlow, Ireland, reg. 468585) as the contracting company, 'a subsidiary of OVH Groupe SA' (Lille registry, seat in Roubaix, France). Other OVHcloud country sites use other OVH entities. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Netcup | netcup GmbH is registered in Germany; parent named: Anexia (Austria). No US company appears on its legal pages. We have not checked for US subsidiaries. netcup GmbH, Karlsruhe (HRB 705547, Amtsgericht Mannheim). About page: part of the Anexia group since 2016; Anexia is Austrian. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Contabo | Contabo GmbH is registered in Germany; no parent named. No US company appears on its legal pages. We have not checked for US subsidiaries. Terms name Contabo GmbH, Welfenstrasse 22, Munich. Ownership above the GmbH is not stated on its own pages. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Hostinger | Hostinger International Limited is registered in Cyprus; no parent named. No US company appears on its legal pages. We have not checked for US subsidiaries. For EU customers the contracting entity is Hostinger International Limited, Larnaca, Cyprus; UK, Singapore, Indonesia and other buyers sign with other Hostinger entities (terms list them by buyer country). Group HQ is not stated in the terms. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Scaleway | Scaleway SAS is registered in France; parent named: iliad Group. No US company appears on its legal pages. We have not checked for US subsidiaries. Scaleway SAS, RCS Paris 433 115 904. About page: 'A subsidiary of the iliad Group'. iliad's country is not stated there. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Hetzner | Hetzner Online GmbH is registered in Germany; no parent named. No US company appears on its legal pages. We have not checked for US subsidiaries. Imprint lists Hetzner Online GmbH, Gunzenhausen. No parent company named. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| RackNerd | RackNerd LLC (United States) signs the contract on the link we use. 18 U.S.C. § 2713 (CLOUD Act) requires a provider to disclose data in its possession, custody or control, even if stored outside the US. Delaware company, office in Rancho Cucamonga, California. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Kamatera | Kamatera, Inc. (United States) signs the contract on the link we use (US company for US customers; other regions may contract with another group company (not named on the terms page)). 18 U.S.C. § 2713 (CLOUD Act) requires a provider to disclose data in its possession, custody or control, even if stored outside the US. Terms page: 'For U.S.-based customers, services are provided under the Kamatera brand by Kamatera Inc., a U.S. company'. Invoices may also come from affiliated group companies depending on region. The terms are governed by Israeli law, but no group HQ country is stated, so hqCountry stays blank. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| IONOS | IONOS Inc. (United States) signs the contract on the link we use (EU parent, US contracting entity on this link). 18 U.S.C. § 2713 (CLOUD Act) requires a provider to disclose data in its possession, custody or control, even if stored outside the US. Our buy link is ionos.com. Its general terms (section 1.3) name IONOS Inc., a Delaware corporation in Philadelphia, as the contracting party. The group parent is IONOS SE, Montabaur, Germany (imprint at ionos.de/impressum). ionos.de sells the same plans as 'VPS S+' at EUR 2 for 3 months then EUR 5 (incl. VAT, EUR 10 setup, minimum terms not stated on the page); we did not switch the link because that price basis (VAT, setup fee, term) differs from our ex-VAT table and the term is unverified. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| AWS Lightsail | Amazon Web Services, Inc. (United States) signs the contract on the link we use. 18 U.S.C. § 2713 (CLOUD Act) requires a provider to disclose data in its possession, custody or control, even if stored outside the US. Site terms: Amazon Web Services, Inc., Seattle, WA; legal contact is the Amazon.com Legal Department. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| DigitalOcean | DigitalOcean, LLC (United States) signs the contract on the link we use. 18 U.S.C. § 2713 (CLOUD Act) requires a provider to disclose data in its possession, custody or control, even if stored outside the US. Terms: only DigitalOcean, LLC is party; notices go to Broomfield, Colorado. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Akamai (Linode) | Linode LLC (country not confirmed on a primary page) signs the contract on the link we use. 18 U.S.C. § 2713 (CLOUD Act) requires a provider to disclose data in its possession, custody or control, even if stored outside the US. Footer: '© 2003-2026 Linode LLC'; legal pages are Akamai-branded. Akamai's site blocked our checker, so the parent's country is not confirmed from a primary page. Labelled US-owned because the operator is an LLC with Akamai branding; treat as unconfirmed. Re-tried 21 Oct: akamai.com legal and contact pages still return 403 to our checker, so the parent's country stays blank. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
| Vultr | The Constant Company, LLC (United States) signs the contract on the link we use. 18 U.S.C. § 2713 (CLOUD Act) requires a provider to disclose data in its possession, custody or control, even if stored outside the US. Terms are a contract with The Constant Company, LLC; New Jersey law applies. | Legal page, checked 21 October 2026 |
How we built this list
- We opened each provider's imprint, legal notice or terms and copied the contracting company, its registered country and any parent named there.
- If a fact was not on a page we could open, we left it blank. We did not fill gaps from news or memory. One gap today: Akamai's site blocked our checker (403), so Akamai's parent country is blank. Kamatera's terms say Kamatera Inc. is a U.S. company for US customers; it does not name the company for other regions or its group HQ, so we list it as US with that caveat.
- The company we list is the one that signs the contract on the exact buy link we use, read from the terms for that site. The group parent and HQ are shown separately. Example: IONOS SE (Germany) is the parent, but our ionos.com link contracts with IONOS Inc. (Delaware), so IONOS is badged "US company" with the note "EU parent, US contracting entity on this link".
- "EU-owned" = EU contracting company on that link and no US company named on its legal pages. We did not search company registries for shareholders or US subsidiaries.
- Want to run AI on one of these? Use the LLM VPS calculator to see which plans have enough RAM. Head-to-head: Netcup vs Hetzner, Hetzner alternatives.
- Found an error? Tell us with the source page and we fix it.
Questions
Which cloud providers are EU-owned?
Of the 14 providers we track, 7 have an EU contracting company on the offer we link and no US parent on their own legal pages: UpCloud, OVHcloud, Netcup, Contabo, Hostinger, Scaleway, Hetzner. 7 are US companies or US-branded: RackNerd, Kamatera, IONOS, AWS Lightsail, DigitalOcean, Akamai (Linode), Vultr.
What is the cheapest EU-owned VPS?
On 4 November 2026: UpCloud Starter 1 vCPU / 1 GB at €3.00/month with 1 GB RAM (Hourly, capped at 28 days/month). Prices are ex VAT; an intro price is never counted as the monthly cost.
Does an EU datacentre protect me from the CLOUD Act?
Not by itself. The CLOUD Act (18 U.S.C. § 2713) is about who controls the data, not where it sits. A US provider must hand over data in its control even if it is stored in Frankfurt. That is why this list shows the company, not just the datacentre. This is not legal advice.
How often is this list checked?
Company facts were last checked on 21 October 2026 from each provider's imprint or terms. Prices are checked daily.